The Crystal Galaxy RPG

The Crystal Galaxy RPG continues to dominate my creative moments. As a game, the rules are coming together, and as a fantasy world, it’s getting a bit more clear every day. With Tara and Chris’ help, I really believe that something special is being created here. From my own perspective, the game keeps getting better.

EPOC is only a few weeks away now. March 23 and 24th are my booked dates. I am going to be ready to test a great many things out!

Scenario Play, or what I may decide to call Odd Job Mode, is still coming along. I have three scenarios, or jobs, for characters to try and complete and I think I’ll have more before the expo starts. Each should take about an hour to play and, depending which scenario the players collectively choose, I’ll get to try out everything: combat, flight, skills, role playing and character creation. I should know what works and what doesn’t by the end and can continue the development cycle.

I finished the Human information so they’re officially our first playable species. The Ether are next and then Chris has already hooked me up with a couple new drawings to get to after that; I’m going to be busy with logistics for a while, I guess?

With the bare bones in place, the physics and structure of TCG, I can really let my creative side loose and start fleshing everything out – the flavour, I mean now, not the rules.

Odd Job Mode still needs tweaking and more options written. The character and starship upgrade rules exist only in my head. More options need to be made available for ship devices, the character Augment rules and options are likewise just empty folders at this point, too. So, there’s a lot to do – but all the time in the world to do most of those.

And, then we get to flavour. Here, too, there’s so much to daydream about and explain. This is a big galaxy, after all, and I can’t wait to start sharing more as we knock sections off the list one by one!

Leave a comment